Browns Point Lighthouse Park
Features You'll Find:Hover over an icon for more details
BOATING & FISHING
- Boat Launch / Walk Up
- Trail / Hard
BUILDINGS & PICNIC SITES
- Picnic / Drop in
- Puget Sound
Open ½ hour before sunrise
Close ½ hour after sunset
201 Tulalip St. N.E.
Tacoma, WA 98422
Waterfront access and an attractive picnic site along with a restored lightkeeper's cottage that can be toured or rented.
On December 12, 1887, two years before Washington became a state, a fixed white light lens lantern was placed on a white post on Point Brown. It was about twelve feet above sea level and 50 yards from the low water end of shore. In 1901 the first lighthouse and a house for the lighthouse keeper were built. The lighthouse was a wood frame structure on wood pilings off shore. At low tide one could walk to the lighthouse, but at high tide it was necessary to take a rowboat. Read more about the history of Browns Point Lighthouse Park.
POINTS NORTHEAST HISTORICAL SOCIETY
The Browns Point Light House Park "Adopt a Park" partnership between Points Northeast Historical Society and Metro Parks was established in October 2000.
Tours: You can take a step back in time as you tour the History Center, Boathouse, replica surfboat, original fog bell and the Light Keeper's Cottage.
- Open Saturdays between 1 and 4 pm from March thru November
- Free admission
- Contact Points Northeast Historical Society, (253) 927-2536
Rentals: Experience even more of the life of a lighthouse keeper by signing up for a one-week tour of duty and staying in the Light Keeper's Cottage. Keepers learn local history and conduct tours of the lighthouse grounds and facilities. Relax and watch sailboats, walk on the beach, fish from the shore, enjoy sunsets and reading in antique rocking chairs from the porch.
Parking Lot: MPT does not have an ownership position in the two lots to the south of the Lighthouse property that the Brown's Point Improvement Club is on. The Browns Point Improvement Club only allows their parking lots to be used for BPIC events.
2010-2011 - Replaced deteriorated roofs on the Keeper's cottage, history center, boathouse and bellhouse with new cedar shakes. They were stained the orange color adopted by the US Coast Guard at the time when the Lighthouse operation was active. Work was completed by Wright Roofing and funded by the Parks Improvement Bond Measure, approved by the citizens of Tacoma in November of 2005 and a grant received by the Points N.E. Historical Society.
Project Manager: Vito Iacobazzi, (253) 305-1027
2008 - Removed the small, non-essential garage which improved open space, eliminated maintenance costs and added parking space. Work completed by WA State Dept. of Corrections. Work was funded by the Parks Improvement Bond Measure, approved by the citizens of Tacoma in November of 2005.
Project Manager: Curtis Hancock, (253) 305-1052
2007 - Chimney restored and windows restored and replaced. Work completed by Grulich Architects and Legacy Renovations. Work was funded by a State Heritage Grant, Points Northeast Historical Society and Metro Parks Tacoma.
Project Manager: Kristi Evans, (253) 305-1054
Events Happening Here: