Metro Parks Tacoma

  • Park Finder
  • Register

Current News

Andrea Smith elected president of the Metro Parks Board of Commissioners

January 10, 2017

Commissioner Aaron Pointer now board clerk; both elected to serve in roles until 2018

On Monday, at its first meeting of the new year, the five-member Metro Parks Board of Commissioners chose Andrea Smith to serve as president for the coming year.

“It’s an exciting time to be a Metro Parks commissioner,” Smith said. “We’re making sure that projects promised to the public become reality. I’m especially eager to see the new peninsula park at Point Defiance. Also not to be missed: Wilson Way, the elevated bike-pedestrian trail linking Ruston Way and Point Defiance Park. The views of Mount Rainier and Tacoma will be breathtaking.”

Smith, a lifelong Tacoma resident who works in the business banking sector, is beginning the sixth and final year of her current term as commissioner. As president, she succeeds Commissioner Erik Hanberg, a small business owner and author who led the Board in 2016.

Also Monday, Commissioner Aaron Pointer was chosen as board clerk, a role Smith held in 2016. Pointer, a retired parks supervisor and former professional baseball player and NFL referee, was board president in 2012 and also has previously served as board clerk.

“This is something I consider to be a real honor,” Pointer said of his election as clerk for 2017. “I am looking forward to a great year as part of the Metro Parks leadership team, as we continue to protect and ensure the wise use of taxpayers’ money and deliver the public park and recreation services promised to them.”


The Board of Park Commissioners sets policy for Metro Parks Tacoma. Commissioners serve staggered six-year terms and are elected by voters in Tacoma and parts of unincorporated Browns Point and Dash Point. The other commissioners are Tim Reid and Jessie K. Baines Jr.

Learn about Metro Parks' Board of Park Commissioners.