Metro Parks Tacoma

Parks Appreciation Day Sites

Parks Appreciation Day LOGO 2016Get involved in this year's event and add your name to the growing list of those who appreciate the value parks bring to our communities.

  • Large groups and organizations:
    Please call and let us know you're coming so we can plan ahead.
     
  • Families and individuals:
    No need to pre-register, just show up at a site and help out! 

Saturday, April 21, 2018

City of Bonney Lake
David Wells:
wellsd@ci.bonney-lake.wa.us

  • 2018 Location TBA

City of DuPont
Amy Walker:
awalker@dupontwa.gov

  • City Hall, 1700 Civic Dr., DuPont

City of Fife
David Cantlin:
dcantlin@cityoffife.org

  • Wedge Park, 5920 Valley Ave. E, Fife

City of Fircrest
Jeff Grover:
jgrover@cityoffircrest.net

  • Whittier Park, 921 Contra Costa Ave, Fircrest

Metro Parks Tacoma
Richard Madison:
richardm@tacomaparks.com

  • Browns Point Playfield, 4915 La Hal Da Ln., Tacoma (Meet near the curly slide and playground.)
  • Charlotte's Blueberry Park, 7402 East D St., Tacoma (Meet at the entrance to the park off of D Street.)
  • McKinley Park, E Upper Park Dr. and McKinley Ave., Tacoma (Meet at the pillars and McKinley Park sign on Upper Park Street.)
  • Point Defiance Park, 5400 N. Pearl St., Tacoma (Meet in the Visitors Center parking lot just across from the tennis courts.)
  • STAR Center, 3873 S. 66th St., Tacoma (Meet in the parking lot near the tennis courts.)
  • Swan Creek Park, 44th and Roosevelt Ave., Tacoma (Meet near the community garden.)
  • Tacoma Nature Center, S 19th and Tyler St., Tacoma (Meet in the parking lot near the entrance to the Nature Center building.)
  • Titlow Park, 8201 6th Ave., Tacoma (Meet in the large parking lot near the spray and playground.)

City of Puyallup
Tyler Eidson:
teidson@ci.puyallup.wa.us

  • 2018 Location TBA

Saturday, April 28, 2018

City of Gig Harbor
Ben Coronado:
bencoronado444@gmail.com

  • Crescent Creek Park, 3303 Vernhardson St., Gig Harbor
  • Donkey Creek Park, 8714 N. Harborview Dr., Gig Harbor
  • Grandview Forest Park, 3488 Grandview St., Gig Harbor
  • Wilkinson Farm Park, 4118 Rosedale St., Gig Harbor

Key Pen Parks
Veronica Grandt:
veronica@keypenparks.com

  • 360 Trails, 10905 144th St NW, Gig Harbor
  • Home Park, 17220 8th Ave. Ct., KPN Lakebay
  • Key Peninsula Civic Center, 17010 S Vaughn Rd., Vaughn
  • Rocky Creek Conservation Area, SR 302 at 150th Ave., Gig Harbor

Kopachuck State Park
Dennis Mills:
kopachuck@parks.wa.gov

  • Kopachuck State Park, 10712 56th St. NW, Gig Harbor

City of Lakewood
Nicolette York:
nyork@cityoflakewood.us
Lakewood Volunteer Registration Form (email back to Nikki)
  • American Lake, 9222 Veterans Dr. SW, Lakewood (weeding, painting, removing ivy, putting bark in beds, & cleaning swimming beach) (West Pierce Fire will be doing underwater cleaning in swim area.)
  • Fort Steilacoom Park, 8714 87th Ave. SW, Lakewood (restoring historic cemetery markers, planting flowers, painting gate to lake, fencing work at the dog park & restoration around the new Waughop Lake trail)
  • Springbrook Park, 12601 Addison St. SW,  Lakewood (preparing beds for growing seasing, building soil/compost bins, planting community garden, Clover Creek stewardship projects, & park cleanup)
  • Wards Lake Park, 2716 84th St. S, Lakewood (replacing playground chips, trail maintenance, invasive ivy removal, & restroom painting)

PenMet Parks
Eric Guenther:
eguenther@penmetparks.org

  • McCormick Forest Park, 10301 Bujacich Rd. NW, Gig Harbor
  • Narrows Park, 1502 Lucille Parkway, Gig Harbor
  • Rotary Bark Park, 10100 Bujacich Rd. NW, Gig Harbor, Gig Harbor (South of Fire Station)
  • Sehmel Homestead Park, 10123 78th Ave. NW, Gig Harbor

Pierce County Parks and Recreation
Jennifer Sergent:
jsergen@co.pierce.wa.us

  • Parkland Prairie, Tule Lake Rd. S at Yakima Ave. S, Tacoma

City of University Place
Tony West:
twest@cityofup.com

  • Colegate Park, 3717 Grandview Dr W, University Place (North of Curtis Sr High School)