Metro Parks Tacoma

Parks Appreciation Day: April 27, 2019 • 9 am-12 pm

Parks Appreciation Day LOGO 2016Get involved in this year's event and add your name to the growing list of those who appreciate the value parks bring to our communities.

  • Large groups and organizations:
    Please call (253) 202-5978 and let us know you're coming so we can plan ahead.
     
  • Families and individuals:
    No need to pre-register, just show up at a site and help out! 


2019 Site Details

City of Bonney Lake
David Wells: wellsd@ci.bonney-lake.wa.us

  • Midtown Park / 20901 SR 410 E

City of DuPont
Amy Walker: awalker@dupontwa.gov

  • Location TBA

City of Fife
David Cantlin: dcantlin@cityoffife.org

  • Brookville Gardens / 6518 Velley Ave. E

City of Fircrest
Jeff Grover: jgrover@cityoffircrest.net

  • Location TBA

City of Gig Harbor
Ben Coronado: bencoronado444@gmail.com

  • Crescent Creek Park / 3303 Vernhardson St.
  • Donkey Creek Park
    Austin Estuary / 8714 N. Harborview Dr.
  • Grandview Forest Park / 3488 Grandview St.
  • Soundview Forest (new park) / 2888 Harborview Dr.
  • Veterans Memorial Park / 3580 50th St. Court
  • Wilkinson Farm Park / 4118 Rosedale St.

City of Lakewood
Nicolette York: nyork@cityoflakewood.us

  • Fort Steilacoom / 8714 87th Ave. SW
  • Harry Todd / 8928 N Thorne Ln. SW
  • Springbrook Park / 12601 Addison St. SW

City of Puyallup
Tyler Eidson: teidson@ci.puyallup.wa.us

  • Location TBA

City of University Place
Tony West: twest@cityofup.com

  • Adriana Hess Wetland Park / 2917 Morrison Rd. W

Key Pen Parks
Veronica Grandt: veronica@keypenparks.com

  • Gateway Park / 360 Trails / 10415 State Route 302 NW
  • KP Civic Center / 17010 S Vaughn Road, Vaughn
  • Rocky Creek Conservation Area / SR 302 at 150th Ave. on Crews Rd.
  • Volunteer Park / 5514 Key Peninsula Hwy

Kopachuck State Park
Dennis Mills: kopachuck@parks.wa.gov

  • Kopachuck State Park / 10712 – 56th St. NW

Metro Parks Tacoma
Richard Madison: richardm@tacomaparks.com

  • Alderwood Park / 208 Browns Point Blvd.
  • Charlotte’s Blueberry Park / 7402 East D St.
    (Meet at the entrance to the park off of D Street.)
  • Point Defiance Park / 5400 N Pearl St.
    (Meet in the Visitors Center parking lot just across from the tennis courts.)
  • Tacoma Nature Center / S 19th and Tyler St.
    (Meet in the parking lot near the entrance to the Nature Center building.)
  • Wapato Park / 6500 S Sheridan Ave.
  • Wright Park / 501 South I St.

Pen Met Parks
Eric Guenther: eguenther@penmetparks.org

  • Harbor Family Park / 70th Ave and 32nd St. NW
  • McCormick Forest Park / 10301 Bujacich Rd NW, South. of Sehmel Dr.
  • Narrows Park / 1600 Lucille Pkwy. NW
  • Rotary Bark Park / 10200 Bujacich Rd. NW, South of Fire Station
  • Sehmel Homestead Park / 10123 - 78th Ave. NW

Pierce County Parks
Jennifer Sergent: jsergen@co.pierce.wa.us

  • Orangegate Park / 84th St. East at 46th Ave. East, Tacoma
  • Parkland Prairie / Tule Lake Rd. South at Yakima Avenue South, Tacoma
  • Spanaway Park / 14905 Bresemann Blvd. South, Spanaway


Does your employer match gifts? Click Here

 


WHAT SHOULD I BRING?

  • Wear warm, appropriate clothing, depending on the weather.
  • Bring tools such as small hand tools, loppers, pruners, gloves, rakes, shovels, small pitch forks and even wheelbarrows (make sure and label them!).
  • You are encouraged to carpool to the site you chose.
  • Most of all bring your enthusiasm, smiles and be ready to burn some calories and have fun!


METRO PARKS TACOMA ACCOMPLISHMENTS

  • An estimated 1,000 people volunteer
  • Approximately 3,000 hours received enhancing parks yearly
  • An estimated $64,860 of equivalent value received yearly

COUNTY-WIDE ACCOMPLISHMENTS

  • An estimated 2,500 people volunteer throughout Pierce County
  • Approximately 7,500 hours received enhancing parks
  • An estimated $162,150 of equivalent value received
  • Over 200 cubic yards of debris removed
  • Over 150 bags of litter collected
  • Over 15 yards of gravel spread
  • Over 600 yards of mulch/chips spread
  • Over 2,000 plants/trees/shrubs planted

It's gratifying to know you are part of a major county-wide effort with nearly 2,000 other people working in their local parks at the same time.