Tim Reid elected president of the Metro Parks Board of Commissioners

Tim Reid elected president of the Metro Parks Board of Commissioners

Commissioner Erik Hanberg now board clerk; both elected to lead through 2020

Tim Reid has been elected for the fourth time in his 24-year tenure to serve as president of the Board of Commissioners, which sets policies for Metro Parks Tacoma.

The five-member Park Board selected Commissioner Erik Hanberg to serve as Board Clerk, the No. 2 position on the panel. Reid and Hanberg were selected by their peers in December, and the one-year appointments took effect during the Park Board’s first meeting of the year on January 13, 2020.

“We just had one of the most extraordinary years in Metro Parks’ history,” said Reid, who won election to a fifth term in November. “In 2019 the park district earned national accreditation for meeting the toughest standards in the industry, and it won the National Gold Medal Award, the highest honor given by the National Recreation and Parks Association. I’m excited to see how we continue to enhance our services to the community this year.”

Reid, a human resources consultant, was first elected to the Park Board in 1995 and previously served as its president in 2007, 2014 and 2015. Hanberg, an author and marketing professional, is serving his second term after joining the Park Board in 2010. “These are exciting times at Metro Parks,” Hanberg said, “and this year we will start new construction projects and keep building programs and services the community wants.”

Metro Parks, which was established as the state’s first independent parks agency in 1907, manages over 2,900 acres of land, including regional attractions such as Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium, Northwest Trek Wildlife Park, Fort Nisqually Living History Museum, and the W.W. Seymour Conservatory. The park district offers hundreds of recreational, environmental and zoological programs that encourage people to play, learn and grow.

Commissioners are elected to 6-year terms by voters in Tacoma and parts of unincorporated Browns Point and Dash Point. The other commissioners are Aaron Pointer, Andrea Smith and Jessie K. Baines Jr.

More information about the Park Board is available here.


Media Contact:         

Hunter T. George, Chief Communications Officer, (253) 305-1065, hunterg@tacomaparks.com

Posted In: Park Board