Commissioners honor leaders with Parks Champion Awards

Eastside Community Center

Steve Conway, Jake Fey, Catherine Ushka and Marty Campbell recognized for support of Eastside Community Center.

Metro Parks Tacoma has recognized four elected community leaders for their crucial support of the partnerships that led to the development of the new Eastside Community Center.

On Jan. 28, 2019, the five-member Board of Park Commissioners gave Parks Champion Awards to state Sen. Steve Conway, state Rep. Jake Fey, Tacoma City Councilmember Catherine Ushka, and Pierce County Councilmember Marty Campbell.

In a proclamation expressing its appreciation, the Park Board noted that:

  • Sen. Conway and Rep. Fey championed the community center project in the Washington Legislature and secured millions of dollars in state grants.
  • Councilmember Campbell advocated for the center in his previous role as a member of the Tacoma City Council and led the effort to secure $5 million in city funding for the project.
  • Councilmember Ushka supported the Eastside Community Center when she was a board member for Tacoma Public Schools, which contributed the land and an extraordinary level of design and programming collaboration, and she continued that advocacy after she was elected to the Tacoma City Council.

“These civic leaders were fully committed to listening to the Eastside neighborhood’s concerns and desires, and they worked hard to build support throughout the entire community,” said Park Board President Aaron Pointer. “This center is already proving to be wildly successful, and we could not have done it without the support of many partners. In particular, we honor these four community leaders for being outstanding champions for parks and recreation services that improve the lives of everyone in the Tacoma area.”